Need some advice..

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • fence_dweller

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Oct 3, 2009
    Hello Everyone I am new to bayoushooter... I myself am not an avid gun person, but my Fiance is. That is what I actually need advice on.. He insists on carrying a loaded gun on his hip at ALL times! Now being from a family who never had guns this makes me quite uncomfortable. Now I have been to the shooting range with him and do not mind shooting rifles, shot guns (i actually enjoy it) and what not, but i am having a hard time justifying having a gun on you at ALL times. ESP when I have a 3 year old daughter, who gets into everything who lives with us. Now when we go somewhere it is not allowed, it is left in the car out of sight. Also he carries it on him at his job, where he works with his uncle at his workshop, in a very safe part of the city! I have asked him to not carry it around me and my daughter but he refuses. I do not know what to do about this and need some advice on what to do. :confused: My reasoning in thinking carrying is not neccasry at all times is b/c i have read so many news stories where the person with the weapon gets shot at and killed b/c the criminal sees they have a weapon or their weapon being used against them, and all the news articles about how small children and toddlers get into family members weapons and shooting themselves in the face make me very nervous. Also in my 31 years on this earth never felt like I needed a weapon to defend myself, so maybe i just do not get why he feels the need to have one at all times. Maybe I ha