1911 Reliability

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • What is the best buy?

• Springfield

Votes: 9 26.5%
    • Colt

Votes: 6 17.6%
    • Rock Island

Votes: 4 11.8%
    • Taurus

Votes: 0 0.0%
    • Kimber

• Remington

Votes: 1 2.9%
    • Sig

• S&W

• SDS

Votes: 2 5.9%
    • American Classic / Metro Arms

• Total voters

SVT Bansheeman

No more laughing dog
    Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jan 24, 2011
    Lockport, LA
    The only way to know would be to talk to all the and companies and see what percentage of issues they have vs the total amount they sell. I do QC for a living and it's not like people generally disclose that info. For example read Kimber has a lot of issues but they also outsell the majority of 1911 makers which if true, they still may have a lower failure rate than other brand.

When I shopped for my first 1911, I looked online to see which companies had very good customer service when issues arised. And one of them is who I went with. You still have to run the gun reguarldess to ensure it's reliable if you need it to be just like any other firearm.

TMcD3

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jun 20, 2019
    Mandeville, La
    As far as take any abuse & still function, I remember a couple of crazy guys on BS that had a Utube channel that Truely Torchered 1911s & glocks. A RI 1911 was dragged behind a truck on a gravel road, wiped down & fired. The Glock was broke. I can’t remember their names or channel but they had some interesting videos. I also said to Never let them near your guns.
    Does anybody else know who these guys are?