Choosing a 1911

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Leadslugga

Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 14, 2009
    Baton Rouge,LA
    Since I started shooting USPSA matches recently I decided that my next gun (whenever that may happen) will be a 1911. It will be my first 1911. I was never a huge 1911 fan (heresy, I know) since I didn't shoot matches, but now it just seems like the logical thing to do. I want to get a good 1911 for Limited-10 and single stack divisions without spending a ridiculous amount of money.

So in the infinite wisdom of all the 1911 and USPSA guys here, what is a good start-up model (one that has the features I want without being too expensive and can be upgraded later).

I know I want a few things to start with:
    1. Adjustable sights
    2. extended mag well for faster reloads
    3. quality, accuracy, and reliability, of course
    4. .45 ACP caliber

I think that's the only real basic parameters for me at this moment, though if there are any other things I should be considering for a match gun, please let me know.

scooterj

Stupid is 'posed to hurt
    Rating - 100%
    7   0   0
    Dec 14, 2008
    LaPlace
    STI Spartan, less than $700.00, add magwell and shoot the snot out of it. The trigger can be cleaned up real good without buying any parts.

Vigilante Sniper

Guns are my crack!!
    Rating - 100%
    46   0   0
    Jan 28, 2009
    LaPlace