Questions on Ruger 10/22

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • NOLASHOOTER

Rating - 100%
    55   0   0
    Jul 9, 2010
    New Orleans
    Hey Everybody,
    I am new to all this and I love 22lr's. I have been seriously considering either the Sig 522 or the S&W 15-22 but I have also thought of undertaking a build project beginning with a Ruger 10/22 upper.
    First, do you think someone on here would be wanting to sell a 10/22 for really cheap? I would just want the upper and would not even care about the stock.
    Second, how easy or difficult is it to field strip and clean a 10/22. One of the reasons I am looking at the two above guns is I believe they are relativley simple to break down and clean.
    Third, how is the Archangle kit? I have been looking at the Cabela's catalog and the ATI stock package and the Tapco stocks look pretty good but I am partial to the AR look. Also, once that kit is on does it make cleaning it difficult?
    Fourth, I am a cheap bastard and need to know if the 10/22 is fine with cheap bulk ammo. I love to go to the range and run a 550 box of Federals from Walmart through my guns. I am a man of little means.

Thanks

AK shooter

Redneck with a gun!
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Apr 12, 2008
    Raceland
    Here is my 10/22, Hogue overmolded stock, Tactical solutions threaded barrel both in OD green. It only weighs 3 lbs at the most. I only shoot bulk ammo through mine with no problems.

100_2499.jpg

100_2498.jpg

LACamper

oldbie
    Premium Member
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 3, 2007
    Metairie, LA