Changing a 1911 extractor

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • XD45ACP

Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Feb 26, 2008
    Lafayette, Louisiana
    Well after some major research I realized the extractor on my kimber 1911 needs to be changed. does anyone know how hard this is to do? I kinda looked around lafayette and every gunsmith I've talked to is backed up for months. So I was thinking I would try and do it myself, the only problem is I am relatively new to 1911's and don't really have any idea on how to do this... Can anyone help me? Give me some detailed instructions/a gunsmith to take it to... I would appreciate any help

dmiculek

Rating - 100%
    34   0   0
    Oct 1, 2006
    Gramercy
    XD,
    Is the extractor chipped or broken? If not, it just may need to be adjusted.
    If it just needs adjustment let me know and I'll explain how I do it.

Better yet go here: www.blindhogg.com
    Lots of good info here for the do it yourselfer and has pictures to boot.

Last edited:

Richierich

RichieRich
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Apr 16, 2008
    NoLa
    Interesting post, after shooting at the BZ sunday i had to pull out the extractor on my 1911 hope all goes well for ya. Id offer to help but looks like these guys have ya covered good luck.

artabr

Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Mar 24, 2008
    New Iberia , Louisiana
    Please note. This is not for guns with external extractors such as S & W or Sig 1911s.
    Make sure pistol is unloaded.
    Remove slide. (not needed but easier to set and work with)