Question about CHP for non-citizen

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Aussiecajun

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 19, 2012
    Maurice LA
    Gday guys. I have a question regarding CHP's for non-citizens. I'm not a citizen of the U.S, but I am a legal permanent resident. I've been living here for 4 years now, and have gone through the green card process twice (once for the initial 2 year conditional phase, and then again for the removal of the conditional classification). I've been thinking more and more about applying for a CHP for myself. My question is, are permanent residents allowed to obtain a CHP? Or is it available for citizens only? Thanks for any help.

rocketsteve

Florida Cracker
    Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 15, 2012
    Nowhere
    Saves me an attempted phone call and not having anyone understand me cos of the accent. Thanks! Is there any additional paperwork or anything involved for non-citizens?

As far as I can tell, the short answer is "No".

Here's a link to the latest revision (R 02/13) of the Louisiana Concealed Handgun Permit Application Packet. The app is a .PDF file that you can print, as well as save a copy to your computer. The last page is a "Required Documents Checklist"...

http://www.lsp.org/pdf/chapplication.pdf

Aussiecajun

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Jan 19, 2012
    Maurice LA
    As far as I can tell, the short answer is "No".