Convicted felon owning gun?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Neil09

Rating - 93.8%
    15   1   0
    Nov 29, 2009
    church point, la
    Guy i work with was convicted for possession of a controlled substance in year 2000. Can he own a firearm again? Or no? I tried looking on my phone but its difficult. Thanks, neil

nickjames

*Banned*
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 15, 2012
    I am not a lawyer, and I am not sure, but my friend who dated a cop says probably not.

Hope that helps.

nickjames

*Banned*
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 15, 2012
    Doesn't something happen after 10 years?

It's a possibility, but I do not think it is automatic...you have to apply for it, and I think there is a chance it can be denied.

I am sure we have a few recovering felons on here who will be by soon to elaborate. ;)

GunRelated

Rating - 100%
    41   0   0
    Feb 22, 2012
    Walker, La
    After ten years has passed from the date that he satisfactorily completed his sentencing, his gun rights are reinstated. So, if he was on probation for five years, and completed it in 2005, he would legally be able to purchase and possess a firearm in 2015. If he has had an expungement, pardon, or had the charges set aside, then he is legally able to own and purchase a firearm right now. However, even though you can possess a firearm after 10 years has passed, or had the charges expunged, you will have to wait 5 more years to be eligible for a CHP. If you get a gubernatorial pardon, you are good to go, as if it never happened.