question for 1911 carry

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • mrmojo32

Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Aug 27, 2009
    Denham Springs Louisiana
    I do not carry but I have always wondered about this question. For those of you who carry the 1911, what way do you carry it? By this is mean for instance do you carry with a loaded mag and one in the chamber and the hammer not cocked? Or maybe hammer back and safety engaged?

I am a noob on carry so I am sorry if this sounds like a stupid question.

THanks.

Paul Gomez

www.Gomez-Training.com
    Rating - 100%
    26   0   0
    Mar 23, 2008
    Baton Rouge, More or Less
    Be Like Mike...Hammer, that is....Carry with the hammer down on a live round and if you think you might need it, thumb it to half-****.

sorry...couldn't resist. ;)

1911s should be carried with a round in the chamber, hammer at full ****, thumb safety engaged and full magazine in place. Manipulation of the thumb safety is a core skill when it comes to carrying a 1911.

Turn Key

Stuck up North
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    I do not carry but I have always wondered about this question. For those of you who carry the 1911, what way do you carry it? By this is mean for instance do you carry with a loaded mag and one in the chamber and the hammer not cocked? Or maybe hammer back and safety engaged?

Hey mrmojo32, I don't know ya' bro but --