AR-15 Build advice

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • graymo2

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jul 10, 2008
    New Orleans/ Baton Rouge
    Today, I would like to order 2 lowers from EA. I just got my tax returns, and I would like to make the first step in doing a build of my own. I have never done this before, so I naturally, I have a few questions:

Do I contact the FFL I will transfer to first?
    Who is the cheapest/best transfer in Baton Rouge?(shameless plugs welcome)
    Any other pointers?

kcinnick

Training Ferrous Metal
    Rating - 100%
    28   0   0
    Dec 24, 2008
    Baton Rouge
    I used Wayne Moorhead in Denham springs. Nice guy and only $20 for the trasfer. Essential Arms has his FFL on file from my purchases from them.

wmoorhead@cox.net , I can't seem to find his number right now, but he usually responds to emails same day

Last edited:

electronicwiz

Rating - 100%
    106   0   0
    Jul 20, 2008
    Brusly
    I usually contact my FFL just to have them expecting it, all though I don't believe it's necessary. They'll call you when it comes in. I think Larry over at Louisiana Gun and Reloading Supply will do the transfer for $20. I just ordered 2 lowers from E.A. and got them in three days.

Danable

Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Jul 29, 2007
    Lake Charles
    lots of people on this page have done builds and can give you great advice. if you want to actually see something being built there are a number of youtube videos that you can watch. may help you a little more than just reading. good luck

aroundlsu

Bayou Photo Shooter