Best way to kill raccoons and opossums?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Fugum

Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Nov 8, 2015
    Metairie
    I'm no expert, but not so sure about immune to rabies. I caught one in my trap while back walking bow legged, and completely hairless. Unless it's a completely different species!
    Yeah, I'm with you. Many moons ago we had to beat one to death with a piece of 2x4 as we were walking to the football field at school. It was vicious and tried attacking us, we jumped onto a large wire spool on the side of the road and it wouldn't stop attacking until it was dead. Maybe it wasn't rabies, but that thing was batshit crazy.

Gator 45/70

Rating - 100%
    31   0   0
    I don't hate them in general, but I did have a running feud with a particular one at a WMA that broke into my gear and tried to eat my creamer. Getting between a man and his morning coffee is a bad idea. I tried very hard to murder it the next couple nights, but it seemed to know to beeline in the direction of other campers. Similar to hogs sticking to sloughs adjacent to the road - they somehow know they're safer there.

I don't know where the scent glands are on them. Some day I'll need to have someone show me how to skin animals I haven't hunted yet.
    At least 18 scent glands you need to remove. Not to bad at all

pandabear

Silver Member
    Rating - 100%
    76   0   0
    May 1, 2014
    Baton Rouge, Louisiana