FTF

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • benorth

Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Jun 17, 2012
    Baton Rouge, LA
    First, I am relatively new to reloading and have reloaded about 500 rounds. Most being successful, but I am having quite a few FTF. On the majority I can hit the primer a second time and it will fire, however, I am starting to get a little discouraged. I read somewhere that I may be "crushing" the primers? I am wondering if it is a light primer strike from my gun or if I am just putting to much pressure when priming. Any insight on what I can do to adjust it is appreciated. I thought this last batch was getting better, but I still had a few that wouldn't fire initially. Is it just a feel thing? Or is there a set poundage? Initially, I was slamming the ram forward because my primers kept falling out and spilling powder everywhere... (BTW I almost threw my Lee press in the garbage the other night because of this)

beauxdog

Rating - 100%
    10   0   0
    Sep 18, 2007
    Baton Rouge