Gun used for training

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Girouard

Don't tread on me
    Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Oct 23, 2012
    Prairieville, LA
    Taking a CCW course tomorrow at the Iberville Parish Range. I’m going to use the USP45 that I’ve been toting around for 5 years, mainly because I’m comfortable shooting it. My wife wanted to use her 1911 but has no desire to carry it. I’ve talked her into using the P30SK I gave her for this very reason.

Anyhow, my (dumb) question is this:

Are we required to carry the gun we “qualify with” or does the permit cover additional pistols?

JBP55

La. CHP Instructor #409
    Premium Member
    Rating - 100%
    338   0   0
    Apr 15, 2008
    Walker
    Taking a CCW course tomorrow at the Iberville Parish Range. I’m going to use the USP45 that I’ve been toting around for 5 years, mainly because I’m comfortable shooting it. My wife wanted to use her 1911 but has no desire to carry it. I’ve talked her into using the P30SK I gave her for this very reason.

Anyhow, my (dumb) question is this:

Are we required to carry the gun we “qualify with” or does the permit cover additional pistols?

Not required and the P30SK is probably a more reliable pistol.

Sapperboomboom

Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 28, 2017
    Slidell
    When I took my first course, I had a ftf on a ruger p series that I owned at the time. It was the old beat up magazine. I went to my truck and pulled out an old 22lr revolver and passed the rest of the course with that.

AustinBR

Make your own luck
    Staff member
    Admin
    Rating - 100%