Help me decide!

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • blackboltss

Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Jul 5, 2010
    Slidell
    ok... some of you know I am new to guns and I was just wondering what is the differences between an SKS and an AR I am sure there are a lot. What would be the better weapon in a SHTF scenario

sraiford

Pro Castle Law
    Rating - 100%
    1   0   0
    Jun 1, 2009
    Baton Rouge and Mobile
    Since I see you're in Amite, might I suggest you go to one of the weekend shoots out there and ask for demonstrations. I'm sure if you go out there with 2 boxes of .223 and 2 boxes of 7.62x39, someone would let you shoot one.

charliepapa

Clandestine Sciuridae
    Rating - 100%
    130   0   0
    Jul 12, 2009
    Prairieville
    AR is more modern / modular - easier to attach different sights, lights, etc. to the AR. one AR lower can be used for different caliber uppers. and so on... however, roughtly twice the cost for a base model AR.

IMO, AK would be better in the comparison than the SKS. good SHTF rifle also.

Guate_shooter

LA CHP Instructor # 522
    Rating - 100%
    30   0   0
    Dec 4, 2009
    (Breaux Bridge)
    I agree, if you want a SHTF stay away from the SKS, eventhough they are cheaper than anything else you can find.

Get a solid AK or a Saiga.

I like the AR platform as well but you are looking at spending more money.

LACamper

oldbie
    Premium Member
    Rating - 100%
    4   0   0
    Jun 3, 2007
    Metairie, LA