Input please

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • deuxlatch

Airbus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2011
    Lafayette, La/Houston Tx.
    I have very little experience with rifles so I'm asking for opinions here, not an arguement. Here's the lowdown, I live near Houston and have been invited to hunt deer and hogs on occasion, so I would like to invest in a good, all around rifle, something I can pass down to grandkids. I can't even see further than 150yds so long range is not necessary. I want a caliber that's gonna do the job, good knockdown power. I know shot placement is everything but like I said, little experience here. Would I be pissing in the wind with a scoped Marlin .3030 or would a .308 be a better choice?
    The floor is now open for comments and thanks in advance.

deuxlatch

Airbus
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Jan 3, 2011
    Emperor, someone told me 30.06 would be overkill for short range shots. Any truth to that?

What about scopes? Redfield Revenge, Nikon Prostaff, something in the $150 range. Input?

Last edited:

Emperor

Seriously Misunderstood!
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 7, 2011
    Nether region
    Emperor, someone told me 30.06 would be overkill for short range shots. Any truth to that?

What about scopes? Redfield Revenge, Nikon Prostaff, something in the $150 range. Input?

I bought my first rifle (Belgian made Browning BAR 30.06), from Frichter's Sporting Goods (in Chalmette), back in 1979. <How many of you guys remember them?