New to Competition shooting

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Zero.40

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 20, 2008
    PLaquemine, LA
    like the title says I am new to the Competition seen. i am very much interested into getting into competitive shooting. lately i have been shooting my pistol (1911) but i am open for anything. would like to know if there are any good clubs i should join that have competition shooting. i am located in White Castle. thanks for the help

Zero.40

Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Nov 20, 2008
    PLaquemine, LA
    Look up Lagator.org there is a match this sunday in Amite

i do not think i am ready for a match right now. i need to learn what goes on at a match so that i do not go to one looking like a dummy. with everyone looking at me and say look at the noob lol. but thanks for the site.

LouisianaCarry

Tactibilly
    Rating - 100%
    24   0   0
    Mar 14, 2007
    Keithville
    I don't know about other matches, but the one I go to is totally no stress.

My wife is not no Bob Munden (do a youtube search if you don't know who he is, I mentioned him because she shoots SA revolvers) and she came out to our match this month. She ended up just shooting one cylinder per course (even when they called for up to 21), because she didn't want to hold everyone up trying to unload and reload a side latch single action. Anyway, the point is no one minded her doing what made her feel comfortable and no one made her feel dumb- we are just glad to have you out and shoot with us.