Polish Plate Rack & Texas Star

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!

King of D Open
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Nov 21, 2009
    Vieux Carre
    I started shooting USPSA in October so I'm a newbie with 7 matches. Every match has had a Texas Star and/or Polish Plate Rack. I think they are awesome and I love the challenge of shooting them.

Since October I've seen many other new shooters join the sport and they've never seen these before.

There are simple techniques to be used on each. These are openly shared by the more experienced (and better) shooters. What each of these requires is a proper plan AND proper execution. The plan is easy, the execution relies on practice.

The issue is, how do I/we get the practice? There are only a couple of each of these diabolical devices in the area and they belong to the clubs and are located at the Sherrif's Ranges which aren't necessarily open to the general public. And, the equipment is heavy, requiring multiple to set up and take down.

I would be willing to pay a practice fee, equal to a match fee, for the opportunity to get a practice session or two or three :D on each of them. I'll spend at least that much on the ammunition for a session.

We regularly get 10 + at Precision on Monday nights, I'm certain we could get a crowd for this on a weekday evening.

Is this a possibility?
    Can the logistics be worked out?
    How can we get this accomplished?
    Who else is interested?

dmh

Rating - 100%
    8   0   0
    Jan 4, 2009