Roast Beef Poboy in Baton Rouge - Where should I go?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Pacioli

Rating - 100%
    5   0   0
    Jan 10, 2009
    Baton Rouge
    Ok guys, help me with lunch plans. I'm relatively new to BR and want a really good roast beef poboy. I've had Rocco's, Pocorello's and The Chimes. Give me some suggestions please. A place with a beer license gets extra points.

Emperor

Seriously Misunderstood!
    Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Mar 7, 2011
    Nether region
    No suggestions?

Being a native New Orleanian for 40+ years, and living up here for the last 9; Rocco's is as close to New Orleans style as it gets. Now, the other day I did try the Roast Beef at Tommy's Fish House and it wasn't too shabby either.

Both Rocco and Tommy are originally from N.O./Chalmette.

The secret is the gravy and using real French Bread out of New Orleans.

I wish these Baton Rouge restaruants would stop using the exaggerated hot dog buns for Po-Boy bread. Jeez! :doh:

Last edited:

billy308

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 14, 2011
    I am from NOLA also and now live in Baton Rouge . What chaps my ass is I will ask "Is it real french bread Like N.O. ?"and they will say it is . But it aint!

Mojo Rider

Rating - 100%
    17   0   0
    Jun 22, 2011
    Denham Springs