Tips for a Beginner?

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • parallel

Often Beside Himself
    Rating - 100%
    2   0   0
    Mar 3, 2009
    LaPlace, Louisiana
    I bought my boy a Fred Bear Scout Bow Set for Christmas as he has shown an interest in archery. I have zero experience with archery and want to be able to start him off on the right foot when he opens his gift tomorrow. Advise on what NOT to do would be appreciated. If he does well with this one I'll probably upgrade to one of the nice ones as soon as it's appropriate to do so. Advise on youth model bows would be appreciated as well. Thanks.

ETA: He is four years old and a southpaw.

BigNick73

Rating - 100%
    11   0   0
    Sep 21, 2008
    Brandon, MS
    Be sure and tell him not to prop it up in a corner like you might to a rifle. Someone gave me a old recurve when I was a kid and not knowing any better I stuck it inthe corner behind the door until my dad got in from offshore to get a string. Well by that time it had warped just enough that it wouldn't string properly.

jphilp87

Glock
    Rating - 100%
    3   0   0
    Sep 18, 2006
    Ascension
    No advice other than have fun.... get yourself a bow and make it a father-son hobby... I did it with my dad as a kid and I regret that we stopped. I recently bought a bow, but it just isnt the same.

Merry Christmas!
    Phil

lost

Rating - 100%
    18   0   0
    Nov 7, 2008
    Pineville