Bullseye or Titegroup for 45 acp plinkers.

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mitch Dufour

Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    Mar 21, 2009
    Ruston
    I have been using titegroup in my handgun plinkers for several years now, but have a chance to score some Bullseye to add to my inventory.

What say you BS hand loaders ? Bullseye or titegroup? Why ?

twinin

Rating - 100%
    23   0   0
    May 5, 2017
    Houma
    Ive loaded thousands of rounds of 9mm and 45acp with bullseye. Its a bit dirty but otherwise have had no issues. One thing to note is it is on the hot side so charges are fairly small. Some folks dont like the fact that you could double charge a 45 and it hold it. So be diligent in your habits.
    Same for Titegroup. Very fast burning and economical powder so it has very low charges. Not the best for 45 but gets it done on the cheap

davidd

Expert in the field of wife avoidance
    Rating - 100%
    13   0   0
    May 9, 2011
    Baton Rouge, LA
    I've loaded both as well, and lots of each. They are very similar in performance. Bullseye was the 'cats @ss' 30 years ago for 45 ACP, or so said Bill Wilson. I think it was 5.0g with 200g LSWC HG68 type projectile for a major or pin load? Titegroup is nice because it can load so may different cartridges so well. I have used both for 45, 9mm and 40SW with great success. But hey, Bill Wilson said a long time ago...

My (sort of) recent major load for 200g LSWC with Bullseye was 4.6g. Made 169ish in my 1911. You can load at 3.5g for a reduced load, but you may need to dial down your recoil spring for good function.