Help with AR-15!

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • Mirror

Out on the Track
    Rating - 0%
    0   0   0
    May 20, 2010
    Baton Rouge
    So I am looking into buying or building my first AR-15, and I hope to eventually use it for competition. I have very little experience with firing the AR-15, but I have basic working knowledge of the rifle that I have gained through numerous visits to gun stores around town and lessons in ROTC. What would be the better course of action for me, buy an entry level rifle such as a Bushmaster and get used to the rifle's firing style and the .223 round, buying new parts as I go, or forego buying a rifle at all and just build a rifle myself? Also, if I was to build a rifle, what are some good parts that people know work well for their cost? Should I start with a stripped lower receiver or a fully built RRA lower? Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

-Mirror

whbonney26

Rating - 100%
    37   0   0
    Nov 2, 2008
    Pearl River, LA
    I say build your rifle if you have a few simple tools or can get them. There are so many different opinions on parts. I like RRA and I also like DPMS. I just finished a complete Spikes Tactical build. There are lots of different companies that make great parts. I have even built a few of the kits from Model1Sales.com. All have been good rifles.

Building the rifle will give you an understanding of how your rifle works and is also great fun.

kengel2

Rabble Rabble
    Rating - 100%
    27   0   0
    Jul 14, 2008
    Bedico