Living off the land...

The Best online firearms community in Louisiana.

Member Benefits:

• Fewer Ads!
  • Discuss all aspects of firearm ownership
  • Discuss anti-gun legislation
  • Buy, sell, and trade in the classified section
  • Chat with Local gun shops, ranges, trainers & other businesses
  • Discover free outdoor shooting areas
  • View up to date on firearm-related events
  • Share photos & video with other members
  • ...and so much more!
  • longdude17

Rating - 100%
    6   0   0
    Dec 22, 2010
    Baton Rouge
    Ok guys, im pretty new to BS and ive been reading through some of the survival threads and most of these pertain to the inevitable downfall of society. I see alot of threads focused on buggin out and having to travel with a certain "bag" of survival gear, people mention what gun they would tote, what food and meds they would pack, etc.

However I dont see many threads about how to survive off the land....sooner or later once the boxed food runs out people need to know what plants here in louisiana are edible (other than the obvious), the art of snares, building traps, homegrown remedies and meds, how to preserve and pack your daily kills so that they dont spoil overnight etc. Ive looked for books on surviving of the land here in louisiana, (to put in my survival pack) but havent found much

My grandpa tried to teach me the "old" ways of living off the land back when i was a child, but he passed and I dont remember much, so with all that said, Please post all the informative ways in which someone could resort back to the old ways of living off the land.

DE

themcfarland

tactical hangover
    Rating - 100%
    58   0   0
    Dec 6, 2008
    Destrehan
    I have several books on your subject as well as some snares if you wanna play with some..

I have tried learning myself about snares and deadfalls and have the snares down well, even though they are not fool proof.. dead fall trigger is not easy even the figure four..